Week 7- Artist Conversation- Juliana Bustillo and Tidawhitney Lek

Artist: Juliana Bustillo and Tidawhitney Lek
Exhibition: Doodles in Space
Media: butcher paper, drywall paper, roofing paper, toilet seat covers, white paint
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West
Website: MaccabeeShelley.com
Instagram: Juliana Bustillo – @juliaanaaaab, Tidawhitney Lek – @tidawhitney

About the Artist

The artists who created this exhibitioin are Julianna Bustillo and Tidawhitney Lek. Unfortunately Julianna was not at the exhibition, but I was able to interview Tidawhitney. Tidawhitney is a senior and this is her last semester at CSULB. Tidawhitney is working towards her BFA degree in Drawing and Painting. She plans on moving to the east coast and pursue her Masters degree there. She also said that her and Julianna worked well together creating this exhibition.

Formal Analysis

Before entering there was a huge cardboard wall that covered the right side of the entrance. On left side there was a sign that said to come in. Once you walked past the cardboard there was black an SUV white paper all over the place in so many different shapes and patterns. It was really interesting seeing all the different ways that the artists made the papers flow throughout the room.

Content Analysis

I loved the way everything flowed throughout the room. I feel as if the artists wanted the audience to see their own path throughout the room. The room made me feel very creative and opened me up to many different views of how to visualize the room.

My experience

I enjoyed being in this room. When I walked in I felt kind of lost because of how random the exhibit felt in my mind. At first I felt as if there was no structure in the room and it made me feel creative to look at the room in many different perspectives.

Leave a Reply

